why be Blue, when you can be you!

Monday Blues!! Morning Blues!! Drinking Blues!! It’s so Blue!!! and I go like….I’m Blue da ba dee da ba da da ba dee da ba da….and Blue’s Clues!!!

Colors are so important in life. What’s the dress code for the event? what’s the “IN” color this season? which shoes will go with my outfit? I don’t have the right shade of lipstick! Oh! that house has a nice color! Love red roses! Ghastly color that car has! I want my room white, with a pink bedsheet and mauve curtains and mahogany furniture. Colors……

I wonder what would happen if you woke up on a Monday morning, or any morning, and decided to feel some other color besides blue….

Today I decide to feel…ORANGE!!! The super hot and talented Dutch football team!! Mirinda! kyunki pagalpanti bhi zaroori hai ! (Translation-cause madness is also necessary) Zingy, Juicy, Tangy, Candy, Citrusy, Summery, Warm, Sunset, Energetic, Vibrant, Nemo, basketball, Halloween lanterns…and GARFIELD!

Wolf Kahn said, “Orange is very blatant and vulgar. It makes you immediately start having feelings.”  So the days you’re feeling numb, go orange!

What if I was to feel RED, like …lipstick, weddings, blessings, love, blood, romance, rubies, grapes, wine, roses, rocket, Santa Claus, apples, tomatoes, cherries, fire-truck, maple leaves, Rudolph’s nose, lady bugs, chillies, strawberries, bricks and traffic lights.

Pink is a color derived from red and deserves a specific mention because I associate it with lotus and lilies (two of my favourite flowers) sky during sunset in the mountains, bubble-gums, cotton candy, flamingos and piglet (Winnie the Pooh!), many people (male of the species mostly) instantly associate it with girls, but….what? why? I see so many guys wearing pink, and I don’t think they’re gay.

Well, Elton John said, “We live in an age, in an era where there is so much negativity, there is so much violence in the world, there is so much unrest and people are at war, that I wanted to promote the word love and red signifies love.”  So if you’re feeling lonely, decide to feel red, feel loved.

Maybe I can try BLUE as well …The Indian Cricket Team!!! ocean, view of the earth from space, DENIMS!!!!! waves, sapphire, morning skies, Blues music, rainfall, blue ribbon cartoons (Looney Tunes, Warner Bros, Merrie  Melodies…remember?) Trojans (remember Brad Pitt coming out of a tent in Troy) and…MORROCCO!!!!

Now PURPLE falls in the blue spectrum and deserves a special mention because it’s associated with royalty, orchids, lavender (it’s a blessing in disguise), violets, lilacs, and plums.

Yves Saint Laurent said, “I wish I had invented blue jeans. They have expression, modesty, sex appeal, simplicity – all I hope for in my clothes.” If you’re feeling confused, then feel blue, feel simple and sexy at the same time, or you may try purple and feel exclusive and soothing.

What if I was GREEN, then I’d be the pristine North-East!!! Mistletoe, Santa’s elves, prosperity, fertility, spring, an alien with antennae, Easter, caterpillars, parrots, turtles, can of spinach that Popeye uses to boost his strength, the Green Lantern, leprechauns, olives, peas, grass….and yes even the meadow where Edward Cullen takes Bella Swan (Yuck!)….trees, washed with rains.

“The garden of love is green without limit and yields many fruits other than sorrow or joy. Love is beyond either condition: without spring, without autumn, it is always fresh”, said Rumi. Should there be a time when you’re feeling particularly low, try feeling green, fresh, happy, healthy and carefree (like the elves.)

As for me, most days I’m YELLOW like a happy daffodil, sunflower, sun, Tweety, saris, sarson ke khet in DDLJ (drool SRK), john’s chaddi in Dostana (remember beach scene–Shut up and bounce….drool like mad rabid dog), rubber duck, mangoes, light bulbs, banana, goldfish, lemon, pineapples (with rock salt, yum!), taxi, corn, peaches, rasbhari (I have no idea what it’s called in English) Pikachu, honey, papaya, gold, ducklings, melon (kharbooja) Odie (Jon’s dog, Garfield..remember?) and….MINIONS!!!!!

I love feeling yellow, it’s my favorite color; in all its shades, and tones and hues and variations and combinations. For the love of God, I fail to understand how can someone associate yellow with anything negative? Someone might say, jaundice; and I’ll reply that if you’ve turned yellow that means you can be diagnosed conclusively and be treated and be well again! Conor Oberst said, “I really just want to be warm yellow light that pours over everyone I love.”  So, if you’re yellow, like me, be bright and happy.

BROWN – the mesmerizing eyes of the one you love, the majestic Zanskar mountain range, smell of earth after rains, chocolate, coffee, gingerbread, acorn, walnuts, nutmeg, bread, chestnuts, Nutella, donuts, potatoes and the sinful cinnamon rolls!!

So, for me, brown is associated with scrumptious things. Nourishment for body, mind and soul.  Mariska Hargitay said, “Chocolate is the first luxury. It has so many things wrapped up in it: Deliciousness in the moment, childhood memories, and that grin-inducing feeling of getting a reward for being good.” The day you’re feeling deprived, feel brown and nourish your soul and those of people around you.

BLACKcascading black hair, the bejeweled night sky, seductive little black dress, those oh so super sexy and always reliable pair of black stilettos, mascara, black grapes, deep space, my life-line my phone!!!  and its lifeline, the charger, my laptop and oh so essential ext. HD!!! that guiding light–the steering wheel of my car, and the ever essential car tires!! patent leather shoes, vanilla pods, pepper (the ever essential spice).

Anne Lamott said, “Hope begins in the dark, the stubborn hope that if you just show up and try to do the right thing, the dawn will come. You wait and watch and work: you don’t give up.” So, if you’re feeling ignored or attention deficient, feel black, feel essential. Put on some mascara or that black shirt, and go out and greet people with a smile, you will get a response.

WHITE – The Himalayas, snow, cheese, milk, moonlight, calla lilies, pasta, eggs, sugar, polar bear, spaghetti, clouds, icing on the cake! camellia, mogra, chameli, champa, grandma’s hair, doves, the wardrobe essential- white shirt, the long flowing wedding  gown, white water  rafting, shells, white chocolate, white cats, freshly laundered towels, lightning, silver jewelry, moon.

Honore de Balzac said, “True love is eternal, infinite, and always like itself. It is equal and pure, without violent demonstrations: it is seen with white hairs and is always young in the heart.” White doesn’t stand for racism, it stands for purity, and selflessness, like the stars and moon, shining at night to gladden the heart of others. The day you’re having vicious thoughts and you feel like bitching about someone, or bullying someone; try feeling white.

FAB – Yes, this is a color! it’s your favorite color. It’s the color you choose to be, it’s a combination of colors you choose to be. Its cheques and stripes and polka dots and psychedelic prints. What do you get when you mix red and black? You get Fab! Pink and turquoise? Fab again. Indigo and orange? Right, it’s Fab!… My mom cracks this joke…she says I’m so positive that even my blood group is +ve. She’s B+, so she says even my blood group demands that I should be a positive person. Fab is positive, it’s happy, its bright, it’s mad, it’s naive, its stupid, its love, its flowers and mountains and leprechauns and sporty. So go choose your Fab, and be Fab!

“There is no blue without yellow and without orange.” said Vincent Van Gogh. There is positive in everything. You can choose to see the big bad blue, or you can choose to see the sunny blue sky with the happy yellow and the warm orange. Moods and colors go hand in hand. So, change your mood, don’t be cranky and glum and negative and sad all the time, it’s ok to be like that sometimes, you’re human. But not all the time, damn, you’re human! Pablo Picasso says, “Some painters transform the sun into a yellow spot, others transform a yellow spot into the sun.” Everyone is given the same brain, the same four-chambered heart, it is up to you, what you choose to do with it. You can CHOOSE to be happy, and STAY happy.  So, the next time someone asks you, how are you?  I’ll be happy if you say, “today I’m pink! tomorrow I’ll be green!”. I’d love it if you would say, “I’m Fab!”, so go pick a color or many colors…choose your mood, choose your color, be a color that is you!

One thought on “why be Blue, when you can be you!

Leave a Reply

